ISAP Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 14 December 2004, Glasshouse Stores, London

Minutes

Attendants

Andrew David, Jörg Fassbinder (Chair), Chris Gaffney, John Gater, Paul Gibson, Tomasz Herbich, Ian Hill, Alette Kattenberg, Chris Leech, Neil Linford, Paul Linford, James Lyall, Louise Martin, Mohamed Mohamed Ali, Susan Ovenden-Wilson, Andrew Payne, Bronwen Russell, Renate Schiferli, Armin Schmidt (Minutes), Anna Stocks, Assunta Trapanese, Immo Trinks, Roger Walker

(23 out of 148 paid members (13 Dec 04) = 16%, hence quorum reached)

Apologies

Peter Barker, David Elks, Richard Jones, David Jordan, Roman Krivanek, Wolfgang Neubauer

1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting (13th September 2003)

- 1.1 The minutes were accepted as a true and accurate record.
- 1.2 *Matters Arising:*
- 1.2.1 "Draft constitution to be reviewed by Management Committee during the first year." Some recommendations for change were made by the Management Committee (see below)
- 1.2.2 "To register the Society for charitable status". This shall be considered once the changes to the constitution are being made.
- 1.2.3 "Membership fees". Individual membership fees were fixed at the end of 2003 and fees for Institutional Members are proposed in this meeting (see below).

2. Annual Report of the Management Committee

The Management Committee Report was tabled and individual items presented by the Vice Chairman.

- 1.1 2 Nov 2004: 127 paid members
- 1.2 Frequent payment reminders had to be sent. Some members encountered difficulties making international money transfers.
- 1.3 PayPal has proved to be the most efficient payment method and is to be encouraged.
- 1.4 Changes of contact details should be communicated to the Honorary Secretary
- 1.5 The annual fee for Institutional Members was suggested at £30 or Eur45. This was agreed by the membership.
- 2. Accounts (see below) were agreed by the membership.
- 3.1 Honorary Membership was suggested by the Management Committee and agreed by the membership (see below).
- 4. Disappointingly few members have taken advantage of the reduced subscription fee for the journal *Archaeological Prospection*.

- 5.1 Email list seems to work well.
- 5.2 Web pages are sufficient at the moment.
- 5.3 *Newsletter:*
- 5.3.1 Download size of the Newsletter shall be considered.
- 5.3.2 Articles should not be longer than 1000 words and two images.
- 5.3.3 Quarterly is a good publication period.
- 5.3.4 Adverts shall be charged.
- 5.3.5 Getting an ISSN number for the Newsletter shall be investigated.
- 7. Logo Competition: Bronwen Russell and Klaus Loeckner were declared joint winners and received as a price a free one-year membership. The Honorary Secretary congratulated Bronwen Russell.
- 8.1 A price for the best poster will be awarded at the EIGG day meeting on 15 Dec 2004.
- 8.2 The constitution shall be changed so that the Management Committee is only elected at the 'major' AGM during the bi-annual conference. The membership charged the Honorary Secretary to draft amendments to the constitution, to be voted at the next AGM.
- 8.3 Moderate reimbursement of travel costs is to be awarded for attendance at Management Committee meetings. Virtual meetings of the Management Committee (e.g. video conferencing, Access Grid Technology) shall be investigated.
- 8.4 In collaboration with AARG the archaeological prospection publication database might become amendable by members. To be investigated.

3. Financial Statement and Audited Accounts

The Financial Statement was presented by the Treasurer (see the tabled Management Committee Report). The current balance was £1237 and Eur107. The accounts had been audited by the Auditor, Rob Vernon, and were considered to be satisfactory.

4. Election of Honorary Members

The Management Committee suggested to award Honorary Membership for outstanding contributions to archaeological prospection to the following persons:

- Arnold Aspinall
- Albert Hesse
- Yasushi Nishimura
- Irwin Scollar
- John Weymouth

The nominations were unanimously accepted by the membership.

5. Election of officers

By 2 November 2004, only one nomination was received for each post. These nominated members were elected unanimously by the membership:

- Chair: Joerg Fassbinder
- Vice-Chair: Chris Gaffney
- Honorary Secretary: Armin Schmidt
- Conference Secretary: Salvatore Piro
- Conference Vice-Secretary: Tomasz Herbich
- Editor: Anne Roseveare

6. Next AGM

Rome, September 14th-17th, 2005

7. Any other Business

None

AS 22 Feb 05