The Society


“The object of the Society shall be to advance the education of the public in archaeology (including the man-made landscape and the built-environment) through the promotion of high standards of research, application and communication in the field of archaeological prospection and related studies. The Society’s scope shall be international, both in activities and membership.”

For more details please see the full Constitution and the respective supplement.

The inaugural meeting of the Society was held on 13 September 2003, during the 5th International Conference on Archaeological Prospection in Cracow, Poland.

Management Committee

The Society’s officers as elected on 31 March 2023.

Honorary Members

Year of award in brackets:

  • Arnold Aspinall (deceased) (2004)
  • Albert Hesse (deceased) (2004)
  • Yasushi Nishimura (deceased) (2004)
  • Irwin Scollar (deceased) (2004)
  • John Weymouth (deceased) (2004)
  • Andrew David (2014)
  • Alain Tabbagh (2014)
  • Rinita Dalan (2021)
  • Ken Kvamme (2021)

Founding Members

A list detailing the Founding Members from the inaugural meeting on 13 September 2003, Cracow.

  • Takayuki Ako (Japan)
  • Luis Barba (Mexico)
  • Helmut Becker (Germany)
  • Andrei Belinski (Russia)
  • Christophe Benech (France)
  • Adrian J. Butler (United Kingdom)
  • Cosmo Carmisciano (Italy)
  • Paul Cheetham (United Kingdom)
  • Marcello Ciminale (Italy)
  • Andrew E. David (United Kingdom)
  • Tom Dawson (United Kingdom)
  • Ross Dean (United Kingdom)
  • Mahmut G. Drahor (Turkey)
  • Alois Eder-Hinterleitner (Austria)
  • Walter Edwards (Japan)
  • Joerg W.E. Fassbinder (Germany)
  • Chris F. Gaffney (United Kingdom)
  • John Gale (United Kingdom)
  • Pawel Gan (Poland)
  • Dean Goodman (Japan)
  • Douglas Groom (U.S.A.)
  • Ken Hamilton (United Kingdom)
  • Pasomphone Hemthavy (Japan)
  • Tomasz Herbich (Poland)
  • Albert Hesse (France)
  • Timothy Horsley (United Kingdom)
  • Qin Jianming (China)
  • Hiroyuki Kamei (Japan)
  • Alette Kattenberg (The Netherlands)
  • Dmitry S. Korobov (Russia)
  • Juerg Leckebusch (Switzerland)
  • Christopher Leech (United Kingdom)
  • Neil Linford (United Kingdom)
  • Paul Linford (United Kingdom)
  • Klaus Loecker (Austria)
  • Susanne Lorra (Germany)
  • Jean-Michel Maillol (Canada)
  • Louise M. Martin (United Kingdom)
  • Sergey V. Merkulov (Russia)
  • Cornelius Meyer (Germany)
  • Krzysztof Misiewicz (Poland)
  • Stefano Monti (Italy)
  • Wolfgang Neubauer (Austria)
  • Yasushi Nishimura (Japan)
  • Masaaki Okita (Japan)
  • Sarah H. Parcak (United Kingdom)
  • Andrew Payne (United Kingdom)
  • Christoph Peeters (Belgium)
  • John Peukert (U.S.A.)
  • Salvatore Piro (Italy)
  • Martin Posselt (Germany)
  • Anne C.K. Roseveare (United Kingdom)
  • Bronwen E. Russell (United Kingdom)
  • Norbert H. Schleifer (Austria)
  • Armin Schmidt (United Kingdom)
  • Mark R. Schurr (U.S.A.)
  • Christian Schweitzer (Germany)
  • Sirri S. Seren (Austria)
  • Alain Tabbagh (France)
  • Julien Thiesson (France)
  • Burkart Ullrich (Germany)
  • Robert W. Vernon (United Kingdom)
  • Roger Walker (United Kingdom)
  • Qi Yang (China)
  • Fumihiko Yoshinaga (Japan)
  • Benno Zickgraf (Germany)
  • Robert Zukowski (Poland)